Departments — 16 January 2015
Broward Non-Profit Award finalists named

By Robyn A. Friedman
Broward County’s non-profit organizations and their leaders will take home golden statuettes at the 5th Annual South Florida Community Care Network Non-Profit Awards, hosted by the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino and presented by 2-1-1 Broward.
The award ceremony celebrates the hard work, dedication and achievements of Broward County’s local non-profit organizations and their leaders. The awards ceremony, a luncheon and after-party will all take place at 11 a.m. on Friday, Feb. 13 at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood.
“Non-profit organizations are the unsung heroes,” says Sheila Smith, chief executive officer of 2-1-1 Broward, which provides a 24-hour helpline and support services to individuals and families in the community. “They’re the ones that are working every day, all year-round to help people who have a variety of different needs, but they don’t often get a lot of recognition for the incredible work they do. So this is an opportunity to draw attention to them, to celebrate them and to say thank you.”
Winners will be recognized in 11 categories. Each winner will receive a statuette and $1,000 for his or her non-profit organization. The other two finalists in each category will be awarded $500 each. Finalists were announced at a VIP Announcement Party Thursday (Jan. 15) at The Atlantic Hotel & Spa on Fort Lauderdale Beach.
This year, organizations that focus on child abuse prevention and awareness are also eligible to win the Heidi Schaeffer, M.D. Child Abuse Prevention & Awareness Award. The winner will be announced at the luncheon.
Tickets for the event are $75. For more information, or to purchase tickets, call 954-640-5822 or visit
Awards will be given in 11 categories.  They include:
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Non-Profit Organization of the Year

Broward Regional Health Planning Council
Feeding South Florida
Kids in Distress

PNC Bank Non-Profit Staff Leader of the Year
Evan Goldman, HANDY (Helping Abused Neglected Disadvantaged Youth)
Sally Berenzweig and Cherie Benjoseph, KidSafe Foundation
April Kirk, Historic Stranahan House Museum

Russo Battista Law Group Non-Profit Board Leader of the Year
Beth-Ann Krimsky, I Care I Cure Childhood Cancer Foundation
Stephen Moss, Esq., United Way of Broward County
Maya Ezrati, Young at Art Museum

Suntrust Bank Non-Profit Organization of the Year – The Arts
Art & Culture Center of Hollywood
Business for the Arts of Broward
Fort Lauderdale Children’s Theatre

The Wasie Foundation Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Collaboration
4KIDS of South Florida
Child Rescue Coalition
Memorial Healthcare System Community Services Department

Brown & Brown Insurance Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Innovation
Salvation Army
South Florida Community Land Trust
Take Stock in Children

Calvin, Giordano & Associates Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Rising Star

Debbie’s Dream Foundation: Curing Stomach Cancer
Girl Choir of South Florida
Taylor’s Closet Foundation

Children’s Services Council Collective Impact for Youth Award
Firewall Centers
HandsOn Broward
Children’s Home Society of Florida

OK Generators Lifetime Achievement Award
Nanci Alexander, Animal Rights Foundation of Florida
Dee Campbell, Insight for the Blind
Melissa Aiello, Junior Achievement of South Florida

Related Articles


About Author

city and shore

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.