Departments — 01 February 2019
Finalists named for 2019 Non-Profit Awards

By Robyn A. Friedman

City & Shore Magazine 

2-1-1 Broward, whose mission is to provide 24-hour comprehensive helpline and support services to individuals and families in our community, will celebrate the hard work, dedication and achievements of Broward’s non-profit organizations and their leaders Feb. 22 at the 9thAnnual Community Care Plan Non-Profit Awards presented by Signature Grand.

Just like other glamorous award shows, the Non-Profit Awards will include a red carpet and searchlights to greet attendees before the award ceremony and luncheon.

“Each year we look forward to celebrating a new group of exceptional non-profit organizations, leaders and programs that are helping people in our community and making an impact,” says Sheila Smith, president and chief executive officer of 2-1-1 Broward. “By supporting and attending this event, you are also supporting, celebrating, and drawing attention to the important work of the non-profits that quietly and diligently make life better for all of our residents.”

The Non-Profit Awards acknowledge achievement, innovation and quality in the non-profit sector. Awards will be given in 10 categories. Finalists were announced Jan. 15 at a VIP Announcement Party at Dave & Buster’s in Hollywood. The finalists are:

SunTrust Bank Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Collaboration

Sheriff’s Foundation of Broward County

South Florida Institute on Aging

Rebuilding Together Broward County

Calvin Giordano & Associates Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Rising Star

World AIDS Museum

South Florida Wellness Network

Parkland Buddy Sports

Greenspoon Marder Non-Profit Organization of the Year – The Arts

Coral Springs Museum of Art

Artists with Autism

History Fort Lauderdale

Brown & Brown Insurance Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Innovation

Memorial Healthcare System

JAFCO Children’s Ability Center

South Florida Community Land Trust

Children Services Council Collective Impact for Youth Award

Urban League of Broward County

Children’s Harbor

Sheridan House

The Sanford Institute of Philanthropy National Leadership Institute Development Executive of the Year

Barbara Witte, Habitat of Humanity of Broward

Diana Metcalf, Junior Achievement of South Florida

John Adler, Sheridan House

FPL Non-Profit Board Leader of the Year

Keith Marchesani, Equine-Assisted Therapies of South Florida

Sherry Stein, Children’s Harbor

Andy Cagnetta, LifeNet4Families

WLRN Outstanding Non-Profit Leader of the Year

Mandy Bartle, South Florida Community Land Trust

DeAnn Hazey, The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

Blake Silverstrom, Heart2Heart

Memorial Healthcare System Non-Profit Organization of the Year

Habitat for Humanity of Broward

Junior Achievement of South Florida

Firewall Centers

Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Marcia Barry Smith, Habitat for Humanity of Broward

The winners and finalists in each category will receive a monetary grant for each of their non-profit organizations. Those nominated but not selected as finalists will be eligible to win a $1,000 grant for their organization through the Publix Community Choice Award. Online voting for that award opened Jan. 16 at


The 9th Annual Community Care Plan Non-Profit Awards will take place Friday, Feb. 22 at 11 a.m. at the Signature Grand in Davie. Tickets are $100, and sponsorships are available. For more information or to purchase tickets, call 954-390-0493 or visit


                                                                  – Robyn A. Friedman






Related Articles


About Author

city and shore

(0) Readers Comments

Comments are closed.